Alabama New-Hire Program Penalty

The Alabama New-Hire Program states that employers are required to report all new or recalled employees within seven days of the date of hire. The program has been mandatory for all employers since October of 1997.

Effective immediately, there will be a $25 penalty for employers who fail to report new-hires or recalled workers.

New-hires include recalled employees who have been separated from such employment for at least 60 days and employees not previously employed by said employer. New-hires also include part-time, temporary, and seasonal employees.

For more information, please visit the Alabama Department of Labor: New Hire section.